In recent years, Instagram and Facebook have worked towards their goal of reducing harassment and spam within their main platforms, through different measures that give the millions of users of each social network the possibility of better control various aspects related to content. One of the most useful functions that have landed on Instagram since the arrival of Stories to the service is the possibility of blocking people and thus preventing them from seeing the Stories that are published on the profile.
Whatever the reason, it is possible to hide Instagram Stories from anyone, so that the content is only visible to others. In this guide, we explain how to do it step by step, as well as how to check if you yourself have been blocked by any of the Instagram users you follow.
Although it seems obvious, it must be taken into account that if someone is blocked on Instagram Stories. That person will stop seeing all the content that is published in our Stories from that moment. That said, the steps to follow are as follows:
- On Instagram, open your profile and display the side menu of options.
- Access the Settings panel, and enter the Privacy and security section.
- Enter the Story Controls menu and in Hide Story A, select all those users that you don’t want to see the content. Save changes
In case you want to unblock someone, it will be enough to carry out the same process, but unchecking those specific users that we want to see the content of the stories again. We must also bear in mind that, in case of blocking a profile on Instagram. Not only hiding Stories–, that person will stop seeing both the content of the Stories. As well as the new publications of our feed.
Hiding Instagram Stories from someone is easy. But, is it possible to know if someone has blocked us? The answer is yes. But I am afraid that the process to follow is not as simple as the previous one, since Instagram does not offer an option to check which users have decided to hide their Stories from us.
The most obvious way to check if someone has blocked us is through an account other than ours. Such as a friend or relative, or simply an account created for this sole purpose. If, when accessing the profile of a specific user from another Instagram account. We verify that content appears that is not visible from our personal account. It is very likely that that user has decided to hide the content of their Stories from us for some reason.
Another way to check if someone has blocked us from their Instagram Stories is by accessing their profile from the browser through an incognito tab. This will show both your profile content and available Stories that have been recently posted. One detail to keep in mind is that this process only works if the profile in question is not private. In that case, this solution is of little use.